Our mission is to develop a network of contacts among women in decision-making positions to promote effectiveness on the job, and professional advancement.


Since 1984...

Sharon Narimatsu, who worked for City Hall and Shirleyanne Chew, then with Hawaiian Telephone Company, met at a reception and found they had common concerns as professional women. Inspired by this chance meeting, the two agreed that women in government and business careers needed a forum to network.

At their invitation, 15 women leaders from government and business gathered at the Amfac Tower on June 27, 1984, to brainstorm about such an organization, which they strongly agreed was important. They decided the group would provide a network among decision-makers in the public and private sectors, and be a forum for them to share ideas, information, and support. They agreed it would be neither political nor fund-raising in nature.

Thus, their chance meeting gave birth to the Organization of Women Leaders, a networking group that shares information and offers support among professional women in the community. On August 3, 1984, officers were elected. The first membership directory listed 56 women.



Past Presidents

1985   Sharon Narimatsu                       1986   Shirleyanne Chew
1987   Barbara Marumoto                      1988   Linda “Fritz” McKenzie
1989   Suzanne Peterson                       1990   Ramona Mullahey
1991   Faith Evans                                 1992   Gitta Covey
1993   Pauline Namuo                            1994   Joyce Ingram-Chinn
1995   Carol Costa                                1996   Stephanie Saito
1997   Jeanette Takamura                     1998   Claire Cooper
1999   Sharon Narimatsu                       2000  Karen Nakamura
2001   Peggy Hong                                2002   Kelly Walsh
2003   Pearl Imada-Iboshi                      2004   Michelle Kakazu
2005   Janice Nielsen                            2006   Barbra Pleadwell
2007   Shelley Wilson                            2008   Linda Dias
2009   Pamela Martin                            2010   Linda Nakamura
2011    Mimi Beams                                2012   Stacia Murray
2013   Tracie Young                               2014   Kathleen Perkins
2015   Julie Inouye



Meet our Board

March member one.jpg

Julie Arigo


Waikiki Parc Hotel


Valerie Schmidt

President Elect

Ameriprise Financial





Kathy Perkins

VP Programs

doTERRA International

Dori 2.jpg

Dori Palcovich

Recording Secretary

State of Hawaii /DBEDT

Laura Lott headshot.jpg

Laura M. Lott

Director at Large

Kaiser Permanente


Cynthia Takenaka

Executive Administrator

Julie I.jpg

Julie Inouye

VP Programs

First Hawaiian Bank


Ananda Chou


YMCA of Honolulu


Stacia Murray

Director at Large

Ameriprise Financial



Libby cropped.jpg

Libby Lee-Hobbs

VP Membership

American Airlines


Kristi Bates

Director at Large

'Iolani School

Tracie Young Headshot2 copy.jpg

Tracie Young

Director at Large

State of Hawaii


Pam Harms

Communications Secretary

U.S. Army

Mona (R).jpg

Mona Choy-Beddow

Director at Large

HomeStreet Bank

President's Message

Julie Arigo, President, Organization of Women Leaders

Dear OWL members,

Our summer has come and gone, and September 22nd is the official start of our fall season. That said we want to remind everyone about our upcoming OWL Fall Mixer coming up on Wednesday, October 4, 2017 at the Outrigger Canoe Club. Please do not forget to register. It will be a nice evening of networking, good food, great door prizes and an always fabulous spot for sunset viewing! Thank you to OWL member Tanya Johnson and Manoa Botanicals for sponsoring this event!

OWL will be represented again at a sponsored table during this year's Wahine Forum sponsored by HAWAII Business Magazine on October 26, 2017. 

The Wahine Forum is Hawaii’s largest leadership and career development conference for women in the state of Hawaii. The conference is attended by Hawaii’s top female executives, female entrepreneurs, up-and-coming female leaders and women intent on advancing their careers.

It's a great day for professional development, networking and sharing OWL with other women business professionals. If you are interested in volunteering at our OWL table, email me at julie.arigo@waikikiparc.com

Hard to believe we are coming to the close of the year! OWL is now seeking nominations for our 2018 OWL board. If you or someone you know amongst our membership is interested please contact me at julie.arigo@waikikiparc.com. It's an opportunity to be an active part of planning and supporting our membership activities!

Lastly, SAVE THE DATE for our last luncheon meeting of the year. It will be held at the Halekulani on November 6, 2017. Ms Connie Mitchell, Executive Director of the Institute of Human Services (IHS) and recent honoree for her leadership by YWCA is our keynote speaker. Ms Mitchell will speak on the issue of homelessness here on our island, how IHS has been tackling this crisis and share  more on IHS initiatives. 

Hope to see you all at our upcoming events!!

"Turn your cant's into cans and your dreams into plans" -- Anonymous

Yours truly,


President Julie Arigo invites all new members and interested current members to join her before the meeting at 11:15 a.m. for an informal meet and greet, as well as short discussion of the mission of OWL. 

Please don't miss this great opportunity to learn more about OWL and get answers to any questions you may have about our organization.